Listen to Slash on iHeartRadio

(WENN) - Rock icon Slash has been named the best guitarist of 2012 in the annual Loudwire Music Awards.

The former Guns N' Roses star saw off competition from Soundgarden's Kim Thayil and Jim Root of Slipknot to take the crown in the online magazine's reader vote.

Meanwhile, singer Myles Kennedy, who fronts Slash's solo work, was named Vocalist of the Year, triumphing over runner-up Corey Taylor of Slipknot and Soundgarden star Chris Cornell.

Slash was thrilled with the honor, writing in a post on Twitter. 

Marilyn Manson bagged Rock Video of the Year for "No Reflection," Three Days Grace's won Rock Song of the Year for "Chalk Outline," Black Sabbath guitarist Tony Iommi was voted Rock Titan of the Year, Motley Crue's Nikki Sixx was best bassist and Vinnie Paul of Pantera landed the top drummer mention.

Photo Credit Getty Images